2019 Ziskind Clinical Research Scholar Awardees

The Ziskind Clinical Research Scholar Award is named in honor of Morton Ziskind, MD, a highly respected clinician and researcher from Tulane University who died in 1979. Dr. Ziskind, a long-time ATS member, was known for nurturing fellows and helping them become outstanding clinicians and clinical researchers. Learn more about the award here.

The ATS Foundation is pleased to recognize Ashraf Fawzy, MD, MPH, Kelly Pennington, MD, and Andrew Synn, MD, MPH as recipients of the 2019 Ziskind Clinical Research Scholar Award.

Ashraf Fawzy

Ashraf Fawzy, MD, MPH, is a clinical fellow in the division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine at Johns Hopkins University. His research is focuses on clinical outcomes in obstructive lung disease.

Kelly Pennington

Kelly Pennington, MD, is a clinical fellow in the Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine at Mayo Clinic Rochester, where she is a Kern Scholar in the Center for the Science of Health Care Delivery. Her research is focused on preventing fungal infections in lung transplant recipients.

Andrew Synn

Andrew Synn, MD, is a fellow in the Harvard Pulmonary & Critical Care Fellowship Program based at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center and Massachusetts General Hospital. His research focuses on the use of computed tomographic imaging to identify abnormal pulmonary vascular changes that occur in the setting of chronic lung disease.