Ziskind Clinical Research Scholar Award

HomeWhat We DoZiskind Clinical Research Scholar Award ▶ 2018 Ziskind Awardees
2018 Ziskind Awardees

The ATS Foundation is pleased to recognize Gwen Thompson, MD, MPH, Takashi Hirama, MD, PhD, and William Parker, MD as recipients of the 2018 Ziskind Clinical Research Scholar Award.

Gwen Thompson

Gwen Thompson, MD, MPH, is completing her fellowship in the Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester. Her research focuses on ANCA-associated vasculitis and she is involved in both clinical and basic science research. Her clinical research investigates vasculitis manifestations and predictors of relapse. Her basic science research focuses on epitope recognition of proteinase 3 by ANCA.

Takashi Hirama

Takashi Hirama, MD, PhD, is a clinical fellow in the Division of Respirology at University of Toronto, where he has been dedicated to the management of patients with pulmonary nontuberculous mycobacteria at Toronto Western Hospital and delivering comprehensive care for lung transplant recipients at Toronto General Hospital.  His research investigates the molecular and cellular biology of respiratory tract infections focused on nontuberculous mycobacteria, in different populations including transplant recipients.

William Parker

William Parker, MD, is a fellow in the Section of Pulmonary and Critical Care and MacLean Center for Clinical Ethics at the University of Chicago. His research focuses on critical care ethics, thoracic organ transplantation, and the allocation of scarce medical resources.

Ziskind Award Past Recipients

2017 - Erin DeMartino, MD, and Jatinder Juss, MD, PhD
2016 - Rachel Putman, MD, and Michael E. Wilson, MD
2015 - Ann C. Long, MD, MS, and Bhakti Patel, MD
2014 - Michelle Biehl, MD

Members of the Morton Ziskind, MD, Review Committee

William Bailey, MD, Chair
Peter Chen, MD
Gerard Criner, MD
Laura Crotty Alexander, MD
James Donohue, MD
Jennifer McCallister, MD
Jeremy Richards, MD
Charlie Strange, MD


The ATS supports the ATS Foundation’s administrative expenses, assuring that every dollar contributed goes directly to support programs.