Ziskind Clinical Research Scholar Award

HomeWhat We DoZiskind Clinical Research Scholar Award ▶ 2017 Ziskind Awardees
2017 Ziskind Awardees

The ATS Foundation is pleased to recognize Jatinder Juss, MD, PhD and Erin DeMartino, MD, as recipients of the 2017 Ziskind Clinical Research Scholar Award.

Erin Sullivan

Erin DeMartino, MD, is completing her fellowship in the Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine at Mayo Clinic and is also a graduate of the clinical medical ethics fellowship at the MacLean Center at the University of Chicago.  Her research focuses on surrogate decision making, improving advance care planning and examining the ethical intricacies of life-sustaining technologies.    

Jatinder Juss

Jatinder Juss, MD, PhD, is a fellow at St Michael’s Hospital in the Division of Critical Care Medicine, University of Toronto. Her translational research in infection, immunology and inflammation were ignited during her PhD at the University of Cambridge.

Her research focuses on delineating the key mechanisms underpinning immune cell dysfunction in critically ill patients with sepsis and ARDS. Her aim is to identify patient-specific risk factors, specific molecular subtypes, and potentially, distinct therapeutic response profiles that will enable personalized medicine in the ICU.

She has already forged unique, strategic collaborations between academia, biomedical engineering and industry to effectively deploy innovative device technology that may transform the care of patients with ARDS.

Ziskind Award Past Recipients

2016 - Rachel Putman, MD, and Michael E. Wilson, MD
2015 - Ann C. Long, MD, MS, and Bhakti Patel, MD
2014 - Michelle Biehl, MD

Members of the Morton Ziskind, MD, Review Committee

William Bailey, MD, Chair
Peter Chen, MD
Stephen Crane, PhD
Gerard Criner, MD
Laura Crotty Alexander, MD
James Donohue, MD
Jennifer McCallister, MD
Jeremy Richards, MD
Charlie Strange, MD


The ATS supports the ATS Foundation’s administrative expenses, assuring that every dollar contributed goes directly to support programs.