Ziskind Clinical Research Scholar Award

HomeWhat We DoZiskind Clinical Research Scholar Award ▶ 2015 Ziskind Awardees
2015 Ziskind Awardees

The ATS Foundation is pleased to recognize Drs. Ann C. Long and Bhakti Patel as recipients of the 2015 Ziskind Clinical Research Scholar Award.

Dr. Ann Long

Ann C. Long, MD, MS

Ann C. Long, MD, MS, is a senior fellow in the Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine at the University of Washington. Her research interests include identification of patient populations at high risk for poor quality palliative care as well as the development and implementation of interventions to enhance the quality of palliative care provided to seriously ill, hospitalized adults.

Dr. Bhakti Patel

Bhakti Patel, MD

Bhakti Patel, MD, is a pulmonary and critical care fellow at the University of Chicago. Her recent paper entitled “Impact of Early Mobilization on Glycemic Control and ICU-Acquired Weakness in Mechanical Ventilated Critically Ill Patients” generated great interest in the Critical Care Community and is currently working on research detailing the impact of ICU mobility on long term outcomes in survivors.


Ziskind Award Past Recipients
2016 - Rachel Putman, MD, and Michael E. Wilson, MD
2015 - Ann C. Long, MD, MS, and Bhakti Patel, MD
2014 - Michelle Biehl, MD

Members of the Morton Ziskind, MD, Review Committee
William Bailey, MD, Chair
Peter Chen, MD
Stephen Crane, PhD
Gerard Criner, MD
James Donohue, MD
Louis Libby, MD
Jennifer McCallister, MD
Charlie Strange, MD

More on the 2015 Ziskind Clinical Research Scholar Awardees in ATS News

The ATS supports the ATS Foundation’s administrative expenses, assuring that every dollar contributed goes directly to support programs.