Ziskind Clinical Research Scholar Award

HomeWhat We DoZiskind Clinical Research Scholar Award ▶ 2014 Ziskind Awardee
2014 Ziskind Awardee

Michelle Biehl

Michelle Biehl, MD

Michelle Biehl, MD, Wins 2014 Ziskind Clinical Research Scholar Award

Michelle Biehl, MD, has been named the first Ziskind Clinical Research Scholar Award winner.

The ATS Foundation award is named in honor of Morton Ziskind, MD, a highly respected clinician and researcher from Tulane University who died in 1979. Dr. Ziskind, a long-time ATS member, was known for nurturing fellows and helping them become outstanding clinicians and clinical researchers.

“Winning the Ziskind Award was a huge honor for me. Being recognized for my research work with such a prestigious award is truly wonderful,” says Dr. Biehl. “It encouraged me to continue doing research, to continue working hard, and to do my best in everything I do.”

Dr. Biehl recently completed her fellowship at the Mayo Clinic and continues her critical care work at Sanford Health, University of South Dakota Medical Center. The focus of her research is long-term outcomes of critical care survivors.

“We had some very impressive nominations for this year’s award,” says William C. Bailey, MD, who chaired the committee of nine ATS members responsible for choosing the winner. “We wanted to send a powerful message that this is a prestigious award. And we did that by selecting Dr. Biehl.”

The eminent scholar chair in pulmonary disease at the University of Alabama at Birmingham, Dr. Bailey trained directly under Dr. Ziskind. The fund supporting the $500 stipend was started by many of Dr. Ziskind’s former fellows and a bequest from his colleague the late Oscar Friedman, MD.

The ATS supports the ATS Foundation’s administrative expenses, assuring that every dollar contributed goes directly to support programs.