Ziskind Clinical Research Scholar Award

HomeWhat We Do ▶ Ziskind Clinical Research Scholar Award
About the Ziskind Award

Ziskind Clinical Research Scholar Award

Morton Ziskind, MD
(photo courtesy of
Tulane University Archives)


The Ziskind Clinical Research Scholar Award is an ATS Foundation award that honors pulmonary and critical care fellows engaged in clinical research.

The award was named after Morton Ziskind, MD, a highly respected clinician-researcher from Tulane University who died in 1979 and was renowned for bringing his fellows to the ATS International Conferences and exposing them to memorable learning experiences.

In an effort to honor his inspiring mentoring practices, the ATS Foundation created this award program to recognize the best and the brightest individuals in clinical research.


2018 Nominations

Ziskind Award Past Recipients

2018 - Gwen Thompson, MD, MPH, Takashi Hirama, MD, PhD, and William Parker, MD
2017 - Erin DeMartino, MD, and Jatinder Juss, MD, PhD
2016 - Rachel Putman, MD, and Michael E. Wilson, MD
2015 - Ann C. Long, MD, MS, and Bhakti Patel, MD
2014 - Michelle Biehl, MD

The ATS supports the ATS Foundation’s administrative expenses, assuring that every dollar contributed goes directly to support programs.