What We Do

HomeWhat We Do ▶ Mellins Award
Mellins Award

In 2013, the ATS Foundation and the ATS Assembly on Pediatrics established the Robert B. Mellins, MD, Outstanding Achievement Endowed Award honoring Dr. Mellins’ legacy as a founder of pediatric pulmonology. The Mellins Award recognizes the scholarship and research achievement of an instructor, assistant professor, or early associate professor in the pediatric pulmonology field.

Don B. Sanders
Don B. Sanders, M.D.
2018 awardee

Don B. Sanders, M.D., is an Associate Professor of Pediatrics at Indiana University School of Medicine. He is nationally recognized for his seminal work in early cystic fibrosis and pulmonary exacerbations.

Learn more

Erick Forno
Erick Forno, M.D., M.P.H.
2017 awardee

Erick Forno, M.D., M.P.H., is an assistant professor of pediatrics at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine and the Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh. His overarching research interest is on the epidemiology, genetic epidemiology, and the genomics of asthma, with particular focus on the effects of obesity and adiposity on childhood asthma.

Lucas Hoffman
Lucas R. Hoffman, MD, PhD
2016 awardee

Lucas R. Hoffman, MD, PhD, is an associate professor of pediatrics and microbiology at the University of Washington, Seattle, and Seattle Children’s Hospital. His laboratory uses both traditional and cutting-edge sequencing techniques to study how microbes cause or contribute to chronic lung diseases in children, including cystic fibrosis and idiopathic bronchiectasis.

Eric Austin
Eric Austin, MD
2015 awardee

Eric Austin, MD, is an assistant professor of pediatrics at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, and director of their Pediatric Pulmonary Hypertension Program. To study why certain patients are susceptible to pulmonary arterial hypertension and others are not, Dr. Austin has assembled a team of physician-scientists and biomedical informatics experts to apply cutting-edge genomic technologies and methods to advance understanding of the genetic pathways that contribute to the pathogenesis of PAH.

Learn more

Lisa Young
Lisa Young, MD
2014 awardee

Lisa Young, MD, associate professor of pediatrics at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, is researching familial interstitial lung diseases and idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis. Her research lab utilizes both laboratory-based and patient-oriented research approaches.

Robert Freishtat
Robert Freishtat, MD, MPH
2013 awardee

Robert Freishtat, MD, MPH, was the inaugural recipient of the Robert B. Mellins, MD, Outstanding Achievement Endowed Award. Dr. Freishtat serves as a clinician at the Children’s National Health System in Washington, DC; he also is the director of fellowship research for Children’s National Emergency Medicine.

The ATS supports the ATS Foundation’s administrative expenses, assuring that every dollar contributed goes directly to support programs.