Ziskind Clinical Research Scholar Award

Morton Ziskind, MD
(photo courtesy of
Tulane University Archives)

The Ziskind Clinical Research Scholar Award is an ATS Foundation award that honors pulmonary and critical care fellows engaged in clinical research.

The award was named after Morton Ziskind, MD, a highly respected clinician-researcher from Tulane University who died in 1979 and was renowned for bringing his fellows to the ATS International Conferences and exposing them to memorable learning experiences.

In an effort to honor his inspiring mentoring practices, the ATS Foundation created this award program to recognize the best and the brightest individuals in clinical research.


To be considered for the Ziskind Clinical Research Scholar Award (a one-time award of $500), applicants must first be nominated by a faculty mentor, division director, program director or asso­ciate program director. After an initial review of nomination letters, highly merito­rious applicants will be asked to submit a personal statement as to their interest in being a Ziskind Scholar prior to selection of the winners. The applicant criteria are the following:

  • Fellow must be an MD or DO
  • Fellow must be currently enrolled in a US or International pulmonary or critical care adult or pediatric fellowship program
  • Fellow must have a submitted abstract to ATS 2019 Dallas, TX
  • Fellows must be an ATS member or become one when selected as a scholar

How do I nominate a fellow?

The ATS invites faculty mentors, division directors, training program directors and associate training program directors to nominate one outstanding fellow to be considered for this award.  The nomination should be submitted in the form of a one-page letter attesting to:

  • Why this fellow should be considered an “outstanding clinical research scholar”
  • Why this fellow stands out for their clinical research skills
  • Why this fellow is a potential leader in clinical research and in the ATS

Please also include the following supporting documents with the nomination letter:

  • An abstract submitted to ATS 2019 in Dallas, TX by the nominated fellow
  • A current CV/resume for nominated fellow

Please send the Nomination Letter and Supporting Documents to Melinda Garcia on or before March 29, 2019 Friday, April 19, 2019. An electronic notification will be sent to you upon submission. Please reference "Ziskind Clinical Research Scholar" in subject line.


  • Program announcement is March 1, 2019
  • Nomination deadline is March 29, 2019 - extended April 19, 2019
  • Applicants will be notified of the committee selection in April / May 2019


Questions related to the Ziskind Clinical Research Scholar Award Program can be directed to Melinda Garcia, Senior Coordinator, ATS Foundation. Questions related to the funding of the Ziskind Clinical Research Scholar Program can be directed to Paul Mouravieff, Director, ATS Foundation.

Ziskind Award Past Recipients

  • 2019 - Ashraf Fawzy, MD, MPH, Kelly M. Pennington, MD, and Andrew J. Synn, MD
  • 2018 - Gwen Thompson, MD, MPH, Takashi Hirama, MD, PhD, and William Parker, MD
  • 2017 - Erin DeMartino, MD, and Jatinder Juss, MD, PhD
  • 2016 - Rachel Putman, MD, and Michael E. Wilson, MD
  • 2015 - Ann C. Long, MD, MS, and Bhakti Patel, MD
  • 2014 - Michelle Biehl, MD